Skip to main content


The Articles of Association provide that the AIB has two categories of officials, all of whom are elected by the General Meeting and can be re-elected:

  1. The Board members are elected for a two-year period, as are the Board Chair and Treasurer, the Vice-Board Chair and the  Vice-Treasurer.
  2. The Secretary General is employed by the Association every four years, and is assisted by professional administrators as required. At the time of writing, these include a Super-User for the Hub; professional reviewers of domain protocols; and an administrative assistant with responsibility for Communication and Public Affairs Unit (formerly External Affairs Unit), the Open Market Committee, Joint Board meetings and generally organising General Meetings venues and schedules. Other professionals (lawyers, graphic artists, systems developers, HR experts and so on) are employed as needed.